Log in

Professional Awards

The Houston ACFE Chapter supports its members, the community, students and anti-fraud professionals by recognizing and awarding them for their contributions, achievements and dedication to the fight against fraud. The following list are those individuals and organizations that have been presented awards from the Houston ACFE Chapter.

President's award

Recognition from the Houston Area ACFE Chapter President to individuals who have had a significant impact on the chapter.

2023 Recipient: Beverly Perrilloux, Vice President of the Houston Area ACFE Chapter

Prior Recipients

  • Katherine Avery Guillot, Chapter Board Member (2019)
  • Seham Carson, Chapter Board Member (2018)
  • David Kirtland, Chapter Board Member (2018)
  • Patrick Rodriguez, Chapter Board Member (2018)
  • Cindy Dunigan, Chapter Board Member (2017)
  • Houston ACFE Chapter Board of Directors (2016)
  • Jim Ratley, President of the ACFE (2014)
  • William Blake Hubbard for Student Leadership (2013)
  • Kurt Allshouse, Chapter Board Member (2013)
  • Kent Dixon, Chapter Board Member (2013)


This award is granted to the dedicated chapter members who have shown a commitment to not only the ACFE profession but to the local chapter.  The awards are granted at the Boards discretion.

2023 Recipient: Robert Rodgers, Houston ACFE Chapter Board Member

Lifetime Members

Robert Adams Tom Cothran Kent Gee Barry Neff Arthur Smiley

Dennis Arnie Charles Cummings James Griffing Samuel Ng Rika Waldrop

Robert "Bob" Barr A.J. Dyck Monir Ibrahim D. Patrick O'Dell Herbert Warner

Larry Beall Elvis Foster Richard W. Lilliott, III Ron Ridley Terry Whitley

Cecelia Bishop Jim Garcia Robert Pierce Malone Marc Schwartz Stephen Wilson

John Bovaird Joseph S. Gardella Richard Martinez Stephen Scmoover

Tom Castiglione Steven Garner Mel McQueary Pete Simon

Houston Area ACFE speaker of the year award

The Houston Area ACFE Chapter Speaker of the Year Award is presented annually to honor an individual who has demonstrated the true spirit of leadership in communication, presentation and quality instruction.

2023 Recipient: Inspector Nicholas Underhill, United States Postal Inspection Service

Prior Recipients

  • Kyle Weber (2020)
  • Dorothy Haraminac, MBA, CFE, MAFF, PI (2019)
  • David Kirtland, CFE, CIA, CRMA (2018)
  • Jeremy Clopton CPA, CFE ACDA, CIDA (2017)

Houston Area ACFE Educator of the year award

The Educator of the Year award is presented to a Houston Area educator who has made outstanding contributions to anti-fraud education within their college or university.

2023 Recipient: Professor David Maimon, Georgia State University

Prior Recipients

  • Oscar Harvin, CFE CPA (2020)
  • Ronald J. Daigle, Ph.D., CPA, CFE, CGMA (2019)
  • Robert "Bob" Barr CPA, CFF, CFF CGMA (2018)
  • Dan Ramey CPA, CFE, CFF (2017)

Houston Area Certified Fraud Examiner of the year

The Houston Area Certified Fraud Examiner of the Year Award is presented to a Houston Area CFE who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in the field of fraud examination. Nominees are evaluated based on their contributions to the ACFE, The Houston ACFE Chapter, to the profession, and to the community.

2023 Recipient: Detective Brandon Burgess, Houston Police Department

Prior Recipients

  • Randy Plath (2020)
  • Dan Ramey, CPA, CFF, CFE, CIA, CISA, CRMA (2019)
  • Cynthia Dunigan, CFE, CPA, FMLI (2018)

FRAUD impact Award

The Houston Chapter of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners Fraud Impact Award is presented to the individual who made outstanding, significant contributions to the worldwide effort to prevent, deter, or detect fraud. The fraud fighter must have played an important role in a significant fraud matter. In the spirit of the Houston Chapter slogan United Locally to Fight Fraud Globally, the winner must reside in the Houston Combined Statistical Area, defined by the U.S. Census Bureau as Harris, Fort Bend, Montgomery, Brazoria, Galveston, Liberty, Waller, Chambers, Austin, San Jacinto, Walker, and Matagorda counties. This award is not necessarily awarded annually.

2023 Recipient: NICB Agent Chuck Mazzilli, Houston Police Department

Prior Recipients

  • Robert E. Hoskisson Ph.D (2017)
  • Amy Davis - Emmy-award winning Reporter (2016)
  • Dr. Qingzhong "Frank" Lu - Assistant Professor of Computer Science (2015)
  • Ryan C. Hubbs - President of the Houston ACFE Chapter (2014)
  • Wayne Dolcefino - President of Dolcefino Communications (2013)

Fraud Fighter of the Year

The Greater Houston Fraud Fighter of the Year award is presented to the investigator(s), public or private, whose investigation exemplifies determination, perseverance and commitment in the fight against fraud and who is a contributing factor in the issuance of an arrest warrant for a significant fraudster.

2023 Recipients: 

Detective Devin Farrell, Houston Police Department

Special Investigator Alexander “Bud” Kilgore, Hallmark Insurance

Special Agent Chuck Mazzilli, NICB Houston

Investigator Nancy Sujecki, Harris County District Attorney’s Office

Rick Watson, Texas Department of Insurance

Special Investigator Mary Sadousky, Farmers Insurance

Major Case Investigator Jesus Lopez, Travelers’ Insurance

Detective Shane Krantz, Houston Police Department

Prior Recipients

  • William Ponder, USPS OIG (2020)
  • Special Agent Robert Simpson, IRS (2019)
  • Eric Carr - Houston Police Department Financial Crimes Unit (2018)
  • Jennifer McKnight, CPA (2017)
  • Scott C. Lanham, Houston Police Department Financial Crimes Unit (2016)
  • Sheridan Simmond - Port Officer, Houston Port Authority (2015)
  • Charles "Chuck" Cummings of Cummings & Houston LLP (2014)
  • Detective Bruce Moats: Missouri City Police Department (2013)
  • Detective James Blackwell of the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office (2012)

Global conference Awards

Every year, the ACFE holds the Annual Global Fraud Conference which is the largest anti-fraud conference in the world.  To encourage our chapter members to attend the Global Fraud Conference, the Houston Chapter Board selects a limited number of members and provides a financial award to offset related registration and travel expenses.

2023 Recipients:

Sasha Gartman, Houston ACFE Chapter Board Member

Stacy Hypolite, Houston ACFE Chapter Board Member

executive leadership Awards

This award is presented by the Chapter President to the Executive Team as a thank you for leadership and dedication to the award-winning Houston ACFE Chapter at the end of their normal elected term.

CFE Exam Awards

The CFE Exam awards are presented to chapter members who take and successfully pass the CFE exam.

Houston Area ACFE Chapter
PO Box 22853
Houston, Texas 77227-2853

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software